E-Resources Bits & Bytes

New Library Databases: Drama Online & Statista

06/25/2024

Mary McMillan

Welcome to Fall 2024!

We look forward to the new semester and have been busy in the Library getting everything ready for our new students and those returning to campus. Stop by to say hello the 1st week and joing in our “Flying Start” evenings. There will be fun actitivies, tours of the Library & Learning Resources building and services…and sweet treats!

New Library Databases:

The El Camino College Library is happy to be providing access to two new e-resources to our growing collection of online content supporting programs across the curriculum, faculty use for course instructional materials, student research needs and campus-wide lifelong learning. These have been under review for several years and fill gaps in our collection needs that are limited in print formats. We think these will be popular all around!

Statista

This robust database brings together statistical data & trends on a variety of topics including media, business and society, and on a number of industries accessible from this user-friendly platform. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research entities and associations, and is available in a variety of downloadable formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics.

To get you started, here is a collection of introductory videos for you. The first walks through the basics of the platform like navigating the home page and finding the right search results.

Drama Online

Drama Online collections provide access to almost 5000 playtexts, 100+ video play performances and broadcasts, 450 audio plays from LA Theater Works, along with leading eBooks of theory, criticism, and performance practice on one digital library. Features esteemed video content from partners including the National Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company, and Shakespeare’s Globe, as well as playtexts from renowned drama publishers such as Bloomsbury’s Arden Shakespeare, Methuen Drama, and Oberon Books, as well as Faber and Faber, Nick Hern Books, TCG Books, and many others.

Here are some intro videos to help you get started with the various platform tools.

Have fun exploring!

Arts & Architecture, Databases, Statistical Data

Subjects

Arts & Architecture

Databases

Statistical Data

Background / Reference Information

Career Exploration & Preparation

By Month

Recent Posts

Explore Career Paths with Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

The Ferguson's Career Guidance Center database is a comprehensive resource to quickly find valuable career information you might need, whether it's industry and profession articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice. The material draws from a range of authoritative sources, including the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance.Learn about a wide variety of jobs and industries, scholarships, internships and professional programs, advice on applying for a job and acing and interview, creating a strong resume and cover letter, and more.Here are some new updates and additions to this useful resource you might want to explore:Job Postings: A new feed for live, nationwide job postings from Monster.comSchool Search: Fully updated with the latest data on undergraduate schools.Apprenticeships and Internships: More than 1,100 new and updated programs have been addded.Alternative Education Opportunities: This brand-new section on careers without college addresses the changing landscape of continuing education and provides information on options for good careers outside of the four-year college path.Essential Workplace (or “Soft” Skills): Nine book-length units have been fully updated for the contemporary workplace to address AI, remote workspaces, and more....

New Library Databases: Drama Online & Statista

Welcome to Fall 2024! We look forward to the new semester and have been busy in the Library getting everything ready for our new students and those returning to campus. Stop by to say hello the 1st week and joing in our “Flying Start” evenings. There will be fun actitivies, tours of the Library & Learning Resources building and services…and sweet treats!New Library Databases:The El Camino College Library is happy to be providing access to two new e-resources to our growing collection of online content supporting programs across the curriculum, faculty use for course instructional materials, student research needs and campus-wide lifelong learning. These have been under review for several years and fill gaps in our collection needs that are limited in print formats. We think these will be popular all around!StatistaThis robust database brings together statistical data & trends on a variety of topics including media, business and society, and on a number of industries accessible from this user-friendly platform. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research entities and associations, and is available in a variety of downloadable formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics. To get you started, here is a collection of introductory videos for you. The first walks through the basics of the platform like navigating the home page and finding the right search results. Drama OnlineDrama Online collections provide access to almost 5000 playtexts, 100+ video play performances and broadcasts, 450 audio plays from LA Theater Works, along with leading eBooks of theory, criticism, and performance practice on one digital library. Features esteemed video content from partners including the National Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company, and Shakespeare’s Globe, as well as playtexts from renowned drama publishers such as Bloomsbury’s Arden Shakespeare, Methuen Drama, and Oberon Books, as well as Faber and Faber, Nick Hern Books, TCG Books, and many others. Here are some intro videos to help you get started with the various platform tools. Have fun exploring!...