The Met's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents interrelated thematic essays on the history of costume, with numerous illustrations, bibliographic citations, and links to exhibitions, including those of the Costume Institute.
ITAA's web site archives all of their publications, which are available without subscription in full text form. They have 9 books available as well as all of their newsletters since 1975, covering a wide range of topics.
MDS is an economic newspaper specialized on the fashion business on a global basis, a new media source born in 2018 with the aim of providing the best information needed by professionals in this industry.
The Costume Institute at the Met has one of the most extensive clothing collections with over 30,000 items held. Information is given on previous and current exhibitions, as well as an image database of selected items from the collection.
"We are a New York-based network and support system for professionals working in the fields of fashion studies including archiving, curating, conservation, design and research that fosters collaboration, growth, support and the development of individuals and the community."
The American Apparel & Footwear Association (AAFA) is the national trade association representing apparel, footwear and other sewn products companies, and their suppliers, which compete in the global market.
CFDA is definitely the most glamorous of the organizations on this list. The CFDA website provides access to biographical information on its many famous members, a directory of New York- and Los Angeles-based garment and jewelry manufacturers, and access to industry news and events information.
US import and export reports for textiles, apparel and footwear. No company information. Ranked imports to US by Category or Country are listed in the Major Shippers Report.
The United States Fashion Industry Association (USFIA) represents the fashion industry: textile and apparel brands, retailers, importers, and wholesalers based in the United States and doing business globally. Founded in 1989 as the United States Association of Importers of Textiles & Apparel with the goal of eliminating the global apparel quota system, USFIA now works to eliminate the tariff and non-tariff barriers that impede the industry’s ability to trade freely and create economic opportunities in the United States and abroad.
