LibGuides: Respiratory Care: Books

Books @the Library Related to Respiratory Care

Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology by Will Beachey
Call Number: QP 121 B355 2023
ISBN: 9780323757034
Publication Date: 2022-08-11
Gain the solid foundation in A&P that you need to provide effective respiratory care! Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology, 5th Edition provides an in-depth understanding of the physiology and pathophysiology of the lungs, heart, vascular system, and kidneys. It connects theory with practice, showing how physiological principles guide the selection and use of diagnostic, therapeutic, and monitoring procedures. New to this edition are clinical scenarios for issues such as vaping and the addiction pathway.
Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment by James M. Cairo
Call Number: RC 735 I5 R4728 2022
ISBN: 9780323712217
Publication Date: 2021-10-05
Master the equipment, devices, and techniques used in respiratory therapy! Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment, 11th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to treating patients with cardiopulmonary dysfunction. Using a how-to approach, this text helps you learn to identify and select equipment, understand its operation, and apply your knowledge to clinical practice. It also discusses assessment, testing, protocols, and troubleshooting of the devices used in airway management.
Respiratory Care Exam Review by Gary Persing
Call Number: RC 735 I5 P453 2020
ISBN: 9780323553681
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
Effectively earn a high score on the new 2020 NBRC credentialing examination with Respiratory Care Exam Review, 5th Edition. This new edition contains everything you need to review and prepare for the Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination and the advanced Clinical Simulations Exam that closely aligns with the NBRC's new testing format. It includes over 800 questions (both multiple choice and open ended) within the text and online. Also on the accompanying Evolve website is both the Therapist Multiple-Choice Exam and twenty clinical simulations to provide additional practice and familiarize you with the computerized exam format. 2020 NBRC Detailed Content Outline and examination matrix are reflected in the updated text so you know exactly what to expect on the exams.

EBooks on Respiratory Care

The Adult Dysphagia Pocket Guide by Yvette McCoy; Tiffani Wallace
ISBN: 9781635500912
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The Adult Dysphagia Pocket Guide: Neuroanatomy to Clinical Practice is a concise, reference guide designed specifically for the dysphagia clinician. It centers on the clinical application of normal and abnormal swallowing physiology as it relates to cranial nerves, muscles, and innervations. The text merges clinical neurophysiology of the swallow directly to assessment and treatment of dysphagia to provide quick access of key clinical information and solutions for clinicians as they are completing their swallowing assessments. A discussion of laboratory values and medications in chapters three and four and how they can impact dysphagia adds another layer of uniqueness to this guide. Recurring "clinician's note" and "research to practice" boxes are based on the current research and provide practical and useful tips for clinicians. The Adult Dysphagia Pocket Guide is a "quick reference" that answers the need for a practical guide that new clinicians, graduate students, and even seasoned clinicians can carry with them and readily access while they are completing their evaluations.
Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy by Rose Knapp
ISBN: 1496397894
Publication Date: 2018-09-15
Time to master the complexities of respiratory care. The newly updated Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 3rd Edition , explains the essentials with humor, expert guidance, and numerous colorful images. Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to's you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language.
Respiratory Care: assessment and Management by Deborah Duncan
ISBN: 9781910451021
Publication Date: 2017
More than 30% of patients who visit a doctor each year have respiratory complaints. These can range from minor infections (such as the common cold) to chronic obstructive conditions (such as asthma). This helpful book looks at the respiratory problems that nursing and healthcare professionals are most likely to encounter in clinical practice. Beginning with an overview of the respiratory system, the author then discusses history taking, and the physical assessment and secondary tests needed to assess a patient with an undiagnosed respiratory condition. This is followed by chapters on the aetiology, assessment and management of specific acute and chronic conditions, as well as a chapter on the pharmacology of respiratory disease. Finally, the author looks at intermediate, home-based and end of life care.

Finding EBooks

Books

Great for deep dives into a subject and you can see chapter titles after clicking a title. Remember, books are published more slowly than many other information outlets, so it's best to go broader when using scholarly books.

Use the OneSearch platform (found on the Library website homepage) to search for print books and eBooks available through the ECC Library. eBook databases can also be searched individually.

Scroll through our galleries of new eBooks recently added to the ECC Library collection. To learn more about how to use the various eBook databases, click on the "Using eBook Databases" guide.

You can find e-books a few ways:

Search your topic in the OneSearch and limit to "books".
Or, go to the A-Z Database list and change "Database type" to "ebooks"

EBSCO eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Our largest collection of eBooks with 200,000+ titles in a broad range of reference, scholarly, and professional works from some of the world's top universities and commercial presses.
Salem Press eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks on a variety of subject areas including career exploration, literary criticism, historical primary documents and notable speeches, and science encyclopedias that are published by Salem Press.
EBSCO eBooks Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
a curated collection of almost 800 eBooks for nursing including clinal guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles by leading medical & academic publishers.

Encyclopedias

Great for timelines, dates, background information, and biographies.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers an online collection of premier reference eBooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
An eBook database, providing background information on every major subject 1200+ quality reference titles. The collection contains dictionaries, bilinguals, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General encyclopedia containing over 25,000 entries. Included are images and brief biographies.