@elcaminolibrary
We are ready to answer your questions on library use, tutoring, Canvas, tech borrowing, and being an online student.
Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p .m.
Saturday (Tutoring Center Only)
10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Closed Sundays
Databases offer collections of text and multi-media sources of scholarly and curated information for you to use in your assignments. These Databases include background information, periodicals, primary sources, video, journal articles, eBooks, and more. The following Databases are to help you get started, but check out the full list to see all the great things included in our selection.
Features information on up-to-date social issues, providing pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, statistics, images, podcasts, and links to credible websites for each topic.
Issues and Controversies features reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year backfile, Issues and Controversies offers in-depth articles and Headline news updates are provided hourly by Reuters® news wire service.
In-depth reports on current, newsworthy, social issues. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con viewpoints, plus resources for additional research.
An eBook database, providing background information on every major subject 1200+ quality reference titles. The collection contains dictionaries, bilinguals, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most regarded US national newspapers, including: The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook, released in print in spring 2021. The online platform offers the same numbering of sections as the print for easy navigation between MLA Handbook Plus and the print and e-book editions. Also included is an introductory online course on MLA style.
This robust database provides statistical data & trends on a variety of topic including media, business and society, and on a number of industries. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research concerns and associations. Data is available in a variety of formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics.
Very Short Introductions offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. 800+ book volumes provide an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.