To effectively search journal databases, it is recommended to follow these best practices:
Understand your topic and related key terms.
Identify the key concepts and related terms. For evidence-based practice searches, consider using the PICO format, which stands for Population (or Patient), Intervention, Comparison, Outcome.
Choose your database, here are some related database in Physical Education.
Utilize a database's controlled vocabulary or thesaurus to select subject terms, if available.
Search key term under SUBJECT or KEYWORDS, depending on the database.
Combine multiple search terms using Boolean operators such as AND, OR, NOT.
Apply limiting options provided by each databases, such as publication dates, language, publication type, and so forth.
Conduct searches in more than one database to ensure comprehensive coverage.
If you have any question, always ask a librarian!
Full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Content also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool of nursing and health professional providing access to the full-text for more than 1,300 journals with broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
User Guide: https://www.wiley.com/en-us/customer-success/cochrane/cochrane-library-user-guide