Engineering Technology

'Chemical engineering is the field of applied science that employs physical, chemical, and biological rate processes for the betterment of humanity'. This opening sentence of Chapter 1 has been the underlying paradigm of chemical engineering. Chemical Engineering: An Introduction is designed to enable the student to explore the activities in which a modern chemical engineer is involved by focusing on mass and energy balances in liquid-phase processes. Problems explored include the design of a feedback level controller, membrane separation, hemodialysis, optimal design of a process with chemical reaction and separation, washout in a bioreactor, kinetic and mass transfer limits in a two-phase reactor, and the use of the membrane reactor to overcome equilibrium limits on conversion. Mathematics is employed as a language at the most elementary level. Professor Morton M. Denn incorporates design meaningfully; the design and analysis problems are realistic in format and scope.

This book provides readers with the most current, accurate, and practical fluid mechanics related applications that the practicing BS level engineer needs today in the chemical and related industries, in addition to a fundamental understanding of these applications based upon sound fundamental basic scientific principles. The emphasis remains on problem solving, and the new edition includes many more examples.

A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. Naturally, the dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Comprehensively cross-referenced and complemented by over 60 line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essential reference source for students of chemical engineering, for professionals in this field (as well as related disciplines such as applied chemistry, chemical technology, and process engineering), and for anyone with an interest in the subject.

Designed for introductory undergraduate courses in fluid mechanics for chemical engineers, this stand-alone textbook illustrates the fundamental concepts and analytical strategies in a rigorous and systematic, yet mathematically accessible manner. Using both traditional and novel applications, it examines key topics such as viscous stresses, surface tension, and the microscopic analysis of incompressible flows which enables students to understand what is important physically in a novel situation and how to use such insights in modeling. The many modern worked examples and end-of-chapter problems provide calculation practice, build confidence in analyzing physical systems, and help develop engineering judgment. The book also features a self-contained summary of the mathematics needed to understand vectors and tensors, and explains solution methods for partial differential equations. Including a full solutions manual for instructors available at www.cambridge.org/deen, this balanced textbook is the ideal resource for a one-semester course.

Over the past century, the work of chemical engineers has helped transform societies and the lives of individuals, from the synthetic fertilizers that helped feed the world to the development of novel materials used in fuels, electronics, medical devices, and other products. Chemical engineers' ability to apply systems-level thinking from molecular to manufacturing scales uniquely positions them to address today?s most pressing problems, including climate change and the overuse of resources by a growing population. New Directions for Chemical Engineering details a vision to guide chemical engineering research, innovation, and education over the next few decades. This report calls for new investments in U.S. chemical engineering and the interdisciplinary, cross-sector collaborations necessary to advance the societal goals of transitioning to a low-carbon energy system, ensuring our production and use of food and water is sustainable, developing medical advances and engineering solutions to health equity, and manufacturing with less waste and pollution. The report also calls for changes in chemical engineering education to ensure the next generation of chemical engineers is more diverse and equipped with the skills necessary to address the challenges ahead.

Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering is an excellent introduction into the areas of electricity, electronic devices and electrochemistry. The book covers aspects of electrical science including Ohm and Kirkoff's laws, P-N junctions, semiconductors, circuit diagrams, magnetic fields, electrochemistry, and devices such as DC motors. This text is useful for students of electrical, chemical, materials, and mechanical engineering.

Electricity and Basic Electronics teaches basic theory and fundamentals and is a starting point for careers in electronics. The text is clearly written and highly illustrated, making it easy for beginners to understand. Numerous examples walk students step-by-step through circuit analysis where applicable. The Practical Application features cover topics such as breadboarding, soldering, and reading voltage on an oscilloscope. The Project features allow students to build items such as a continuity tester, blown fuse indicator, and power supply. Math Focus features provide students with a quick review of the basic math skills they need to understand the topic at hand. Math topics covered are exponents, scientific notation, metric and electrical prefixes, order of operations, algebraic equations, adding fractions, ratios and proportions, and square roots. A chapter called "Energy Conservation" covers ways to conserve energy and alternative forms of energy.

This book presents current research in the field of electrical engineering. Topics discussed include voltage stabilisation using a storage capacitor; AC bridge circuitry for the capacitive position sensor inside the superconducting linear motor system; ferromagnetism in semiconductors doped with non-magnetic elements; spin transfer torque effect and its applications; fundamentals of half-metallic full-heusler alloys; electronics, spintronics and orbitronics and electric motor drives for battery, hybrid and fuel cell vehicles.

Get energized about your future with INTRODUCTION TO BASIC ELECTRICITY AND ELECTRONICS TECHNOLOGY, 1st Edition, the easy-to-read resource on electricity and electronics! Emphasizing teamwork and critical thinking, this entry-level book helps you understand technical vocabulary and technologies while imparting the skills necessary to read schematic diagrams, apply problem-solving formulas, and follow troubleshooting processes. Topics address all key fundamentals, including direct and alternating current, semiconductor devices, linear circuits, digital circuits, printed circuit board fabrication, test equipment, and more. Practical, job-based discussions delve into calculator applications, hazardous materials handling, general safety protocols, using power and hand tools, electronics software, professional certifications, and the many career options for technicians.

A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement. Where relevant, the dictionary also touches on related subject areas such as acoustics, bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, environmental engineering, and materials science.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Cross-referenced and including many line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essential reference for students of mechanical engineering and for anyone with an interest in the subject.

This book is believed to be the first to specifically address mechanical engineering education. It is divided into three sections: pedagogy, curriculum, and future. The pedagogy section contains seven chapters on various aspects of enhancing student learning. Chapter one concerns research regarding mechanical engineering (ME) students' learning preferences. ME students are much more visual and prefer more problem solving compared to the general population. Chapter two is on leveraging technology to elevate pedagogy. The authors show many different ways of using technologies, such as the use of iMovie and Doceri, to enhance the practice of teaching. Chapter three on mastery-based learning concerns assessing students on what skills they can do well rather than almost solely on how well they do on exams. Chapter four discusses how team-based assignments can be used to meet multiple student outcomes. Examples are given for a fluid mechanics lab and a thermodynamics class. Chapter five describes how team-based active learning can be used to expose students to the aerospace design process and industry practices. Chapter six shows how a problem-based learning approach was converted to an entrepreneurially minded learning approach in a mechatronics design course.

This book focuses on cases and studies of interest to mechanical engineers and industrial technicians. The considered applications in this volume are widely used in several industrial fields particularly in the automotive and aviation industries. Readers will understand the theory and techniques which are used in each application covered in each chapter. The book contents include the following topics: Numerical analysis of hydrokinetic turbines Computational fluid dynamics of a CuO based nanofluid in mini-channel cross-sections Orthodontic biomechanics of a NiTi arch wires Reynold's number effects on fluid flow through Savonius rotors Effect of operating parameters on Zn-Mn alloys deposited from additive-free chloride bath Optical properties and stability of a blue-emitting phosphor (Sr2P2O7:Eu2+) Under UV and VUV excitation Numerical study of the influence of nanofluid type on thermal improvement in a three dimensional mini channel Electrochemical studies and characterization of Zn-Mn coatings deposited in the presence of novel organic additives Prediction of fire and smoke propagation under a range of external conditions Structural design of a 10 kW H-Darrieus wind turbine The presented case studies and development approaches aim to provide the readers, such as graduate students, PhD candidates and professionals with basic and applied information broadly related to mechanical engineering and technology.