Periodicals are published at regular intervals throughout the year such as a magazine, journal, or newspaper:
A library database is an electronic catalog, index, and digital warehouse for published materials. These materials most commonly include magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Often, other items such as books, videos, and audio files are included as well.
Databases are highly organized and allow students to search for information on a topic by keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase. Most databases at El Camino College provide access to full-text content, which means that you will find entire articles available, not just summaries or citations of articles.
From the homepage of the Library's website, look for the link for Library Databases A-Z listings to access available databases with descriptions of what content is accessible in each. If accessing the database from off-campus, you will be prompted to login using your ECC email and password (same as used with Canvas & MyECC).
Once you select the database you wish to search, be sure to use the available search options and filters to narrow your results. For example, you can limit to articles published during a specific date range, coming from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, or provide the full-text of the article.
For your assignment in this class, it is recommended that you search these library databases:
Features information on up-to-date social issues, providing pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, statistics, images, podcasts, and links to credible websites for each topic.
Issues and Controversies features reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year backfile, Issues and Controversies offers in-depth articles and Headline news updates are provided hourly by Reuters® news wire service.
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
Full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Content also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a variety of subject areas including economics, history, sociology, and political science. NOTE: not ALL JSTOR material is available via the ECC subscription.
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, full-text is available for nearly 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, more than 73,300 primary source documents, and more than 1.5 million photos, maps and flags dating back to 1917.
Full-text peer-reviewed articles from 100 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. This esteemed collection provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Access includes major dailies including the Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Ethnic Diversity Source supports the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books,
This interactive tutorial introduces the parts of a scholarly article, and how to use an abstract to quickly determine relevance.
(Courtesy of NC State Univ Libraries)
