LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Resources and Research Guide: ECC Library Databases

Suggested Databases for Students and Faculty

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
the largest collection available on sexuality, gender, and LGBTQ studies; global in scope. 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities worldwide. Unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Historical documents from 35 countries, with over 15 languages represented.
Archives can be cross-searched using the Gale Primary Sources platform available on the Database A-Z list.
Archives Unbound (Gale)
Gale Archives Unbound offers primary source collections covering African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, LGBT Studies, Holocaust Studies, Women's Studies and more. The collections includes an important combination of newspapers, manuscripts, books, pamphlets and court cases covering U.S. and global events from the 18th through the 21st Century. They are cross-disciplinary, providing coverage on a wide variety of topics, including those addressing important conversations around diversity & inclusion.
Gale Case Studies: Intersectional LGBTQ Issues Digital Archive
Gale Case Studies provides another layer to the Archives of Sexuality & Gender primary source archive and consists of 10 related case studies on critical topics in LGBTQ+ history, each of which is backed with an accessible collection of curated primary sources. Each case study also contains a bibliography, and relevant discussion questions. These case studies can be used in History, Gender Studies, Sociology, Psychology, English, or Law courses to help students not only use primary sources to explore social issues from an interdisciplinary view, but to learn how social issues have evolved from people who actually experienced the events in real time.
Video Overview: https://share.vidyard.com/watch/jsHMZkSmjTa9LkuuAdZojE?
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
LGBTQ+ Source
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Swank Digital Campus
A customized collection of streaming theatrical films being used as learning resources in select ECC courses.
Titles licensed annually upon faculty request.

LGBTQIA+ Heritage: A Visual Experience
A video visual collection o important events in LGBTQIA+ History

Other Research Sources for Students and Faculty

The Library of Congress LGBTQIA+ Research Guide
*Please note that the LoC often uses problematic and outdated terminology in Subject Headings and Item Descriptions. We support changes to Library Cataloging that further inclusivity.

From the LoC's website: "The Library of Congress Online Catalog is the main access point for the Library's collections. Looking for something specific? Just browsing? Either way, you will need to search the catalog to determine the items location and availability. As an interdisciplinary subject, you can find relevant materials in the classified collections from A-Z. Searching by Subject Heading, keyword, or with bibliographic information is likely to yield the best results."
GLAAD Media Reference Guide, 11th Edition
From GLAAD's website: "As a dynamic media force, GLAAD ensures fair, accurate, and inclusive representation that rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and envisions a world with 100% LGBTQ acceptance."
The Human Rights Campaign Foundation Glossary of Terms
From The HRC Foundation's website: "The HRC Foundation seeks to fundamentally change the way LGBTQ+ people are treated in our everyday lives.

LGBTQ+ people are in every community, every profession and every culture -- and yet often face enormous obstacles simply because of who we are. The HRC Foundation works to build capacity and change policies, practices, hearts and minds in a range of institutions that shape our daily lives."