LibGuides: Celebrating Native American Heritage: Newspapers

Newspapers

California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a growing repository of historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of current California newspapers, collected as PDFs, that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
Indian Country Today
IndiJ Public Media honors our ancestors and future generations through stories that make Indigenous peoples come alive. ICT is an independent, nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. We reach audiences through our digital platform and as a broadcast carried via public television stations. ICT covers Indigenous peoples.
Native American Times
The Native American Times was launched in 1994 as the Oklahoma Indian Times by Jim Gray (Osage) and Elizabeth Gaines (Cherokee). It was a bi-weekly newspaper distributed throughout Oklahoma. The paper grew to be a weekly, and in 2006, Gaines changed the name to Native American Times. In 2008, Lisa Hicks Snell, Cherokee, purchased the Native American Times and moved its headquarters to Tahlequah, Oklahoma. Within two years, it was the largest and most widely circulated weekly in Oklahoma.
Navajo times
Available, 1st Floor North - Collaboration Room - Periodicals Collection; Periodicals

The Navajo Times was established by the Navajo Tribal Council in 1959 as a newsletter. The first issue of the Navajo Times newspaper was published in 1960. Its mission is to inform the Navajo people of events, news and issues of importance to them, whether from within the boundaries of the Navajo Nation or throughout the United States. The Navajo Times is circulated in the Four Corners region and the rest of the U.S. through subscriptions. The Navajo Times headquarters is in Window Rock, Ariz., with an office in Shiprock, N.M.

Newspaper Source Plus
This database is a digital collection of the world’s major news outlets. It offers full-text access to more than 1,200 national and international newspapers including the Orange County Register, San Jose Mercury News, and the San Francisco Chronicle. Full-text television and radio transcripts from the Associated Press, National Public Radio, PR Wire, CNN, CBS News, MSNBC, Fox News, and others are also included.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Gale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database providing an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.
Archives are cross-searchable from the Gale Primary Sources platform accessible from the Databases A-Z list.