Periodicals are published at regular intervals throughout the year such as a magazine, journal, or newspaper:
A library database is an electronic catalog, index, and digital warehouse for published materials. These materials most commonly include magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Often, other items such as books, videos, and audio files are included as well.
Databases are highly organized and allow students to search for information on a topic by keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase. Most databases at El Camino College provide access to full-text content, which means that you will find entire articles available, not just summaries or citations of articles.
From the homepage of the Library's website, look for the link for Library Databases A-Z listings to access available databases with descriptions of what content is accessible in each. If accessing the database from off-campus, you will be prompted to login using your ECC email and password (same as used with Canvas & MyECC).
Once you select the database you wish to search, be sure to use the available search options and filters to narrow your results. For example, you can limit to articles published during a specific date range, coming from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, or provide the full-text of the article.
For your assignment in this class, it is recommended that you search these library databases:
Provides full-text access to 320+ art journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. This database also contains resources such as books by and about artists, artist materials and methods, and artist profiles.
Articles from over 340 academic journals and other periodicals supporting research in areas including drama, music and dance, art history, and filmmaking.
Explore ARTstor's collections of high-quality images curated from leading museums and archives around the world, now available on the JSTOR platform. Artstor's diverse collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a variety of subject areas including economics, history, sociology, and political science. NOTE: not ALL JSTOR material is available via the ECC subscription.
An eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. The site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers.
This resource comprises a collection of richly illustrated eBooks packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses. It covers a diverse range of fields including design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
Offers thousands of high-quality streaming educational films and videos on a wide variety of subjects from top producers including National Geographic, PBS, Films for Humanities, and many more. Users can register their own personal account to save film clips and playlists.
A comprehensive streaming video collection of over 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, it includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage.
An authoritative, encyclopedic art resource with over 200,000 articles on art, architecture, and design, offering access to the acclaimed, regularly updated Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. With comprehensive, peer-reviewed articles as well as bibliographies, exhibition histories, auction records, and over 19,000 images of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures, it serves as the most important starting point for art research.
This interactive tutorial introduces the parts of a scholarly article, and how to use an abstract to quickly determine relevance.
(Courtesy of NC State Univ Libraries)
