LibGuides: Career & Job Resources: Resources for Active Service Members &amp; Veterans

eBooks for Active Service Members & Veterans

These eBooks (electronic version of printed books that can be read on a computer or handheld device) are available through the ECC Library. They have all been written with a specific focus on the needs and interests of active service members and veterans. When you access these eBooks online, you will be prompted to login using your ECC email and password.

Military-to-Civilian Career Transition Guide by Janet I. Farley
ISBN: 9781593577315
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
This handbook provides a career transition framework for service members and their families. Readers are given exit strategies for gracefully leaving the military; charts, checklists, and worksheets for planning each transition aspect; resume and cover letter samples and strategies; and interviewing and salary negotiation tips. The author also shares advice for surviving the first month on the new job and beyond. This enhanced edition includes a chapter on how to land a federal job, tips for online networking; a directory of online transition tools; and information on employment and retraining options for disabled veterans. An essential roadmap for transitioning service members and their families, this eye-opening guide addresses the entire transition process and includes the family perspective with it.
Support for Servicemembers and Veterans by Gayle Marsh
ISBN: 9781634849500
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The Department of Defense (DOD) and the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) play key roles in offering post-combat support to servicemembers and veterans through various programs and activities. This book identifies the number of programs, including the types of services offered that address the effects of combat on post-9/11 active-duty servicemembers and their families; help post-9/11 servicemembers and veterans transition to civilian life; and help raise public awareness and understanding of servicemembers' and veterans' combat and transition experiences.
Helping Soldiers Leverage Army Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities in Civilian Jobs by Jeffrey B. Wenger; Ellen M. Pint; Tepring Piquado; Trinidad Beleche; Michael G. Shanley
ISBN: 9780833096715
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
This report discusses the results of occupation surveys administered to soldiers in selected Army military occupational specialties (MOSs) to assess the level and importance of the knowledge, skills, and abilities needed in these MOSs and to develop better crosswalks between military and civilian occupations. The report identifies both a broader range of military-civilian occupation matches and higher-quality matches than existing crosswalks.
Expert Resumes for Miltary-to-Civilian Transitions by Wendy S. Enelow
ISBN: 1457114070
Publication Date: 2010
This book is a collection of superior professionally written resumes aimed at service members who are leaving the military and looking for a civilian job. This book gives resume strategies as well as 180 pages of sample resumes specifically written for people making the leap back into the private sector.

The ECC Career Center

The ECC Career Center

The ECC Career Center is available to support you as you explore career possibilities and potential job opportunities. Because the campus is currently closed to students and visitors, Career Counseling Services are now available in a virtual environment. You can use this link to Make a Career Appointment.

The Career Center staff can support you in a variety of ways, including:

Learn about benefits for veterans, and find employment, education, and relocation resources just for military spouses.
Help you match your military skills and experiences to civilian careers.
Assist you in decision making when you're feeling stuck or still exploring majors and careers.
Review your resume with a focus on your transferable skills and provide feedback to increase your opportunities toward current and future employment.
Prepare you for interviews through strategies reviews and mock interviews that will help you make the best possible first impression.
Discuss other career-related topics and issues including job sustainability, salary negotiation, and career advancement opportunities.

(Image on this page licensed by freepik.com)

Online Resources for Veterans

These online resources provide information for exploring career options and job opportunities for active service members and veterans.

CareerOneStop’s Veteran and Military Transition Center offers resources for transitioning service members, veterans, and military spouses. Visit this helpful site to learn more about accessing employment-related services for veterans. You'll also find resources to help you match your military skills and experiences to civilian careers, search for jobs in your local area or across the United States, learn about and access other benefits for veterans, and find employment, education, and relocation resources just for military spouses.

My Next Move for Veterans is designed to help you search for careers using descriptive keywords, browse careers by industry, and find a civilian career similar to your military job.

Apprentice.gov for Active Service Members and Veterans provides information on apprenticeships for service members on active duty, service members who are transitioning out of service, and veterans. This site also includes a section on how to apply your GI bill benefits to a VA-approved apprenticeship.