LibGuides: Career & Job Resources: Getting Started

The ECC Career Center

The El Ca mi n o Colleg e C areer Cent er is available to support you as you explore career possibilities and potential job opportunities. Because the campus is currently closed to students and visitors, Career Counseling Services are now available in a virtual environment. You can use this link to Make a Career Appointment.

The Career Center staff can support you in a variety of ways, including:

Assist you in decision making when you're feeling stuck or still exploring majors and careers.
Review your resume with a focus on your transferable skills and provide feedback to increase your opportunities toward current and future employment.
Prepare you for interviews through strategies reviews and mock interviews that will help you make the best possible first impression.
Discuss other career-related topics and issues including job sustainability, salary negotiation, and career advancement opportunities.

(Image on this page licensed by freepik.com)

Online Library Resources

These helpful online resources are just some of the 100+ databases available from the ECC Library. A database is a collection of information that is specially organized for rapid search and retrieval by a computer. These databases cover a wide range of subject areas. When you access these databases online, you will be prompted to login using your name and ECC ID number.

(Image on this page licensed by freepik.com)

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Learn about a wide variety of jobs and industries; scholarships, internships and professional programs; and advice on applying for a job, acing an interview, behaving professional in the work environment, and more. Other features include more than 90 sample resumes and cover letters created by professional career consultants and timely information about the job market.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
The Vocational and Career Collection offers the full-text to nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals to support the research needs of students enrolled in vocational programs.
Content includes coverage on subjects such as Alcohol and drug abuse counseling, Biotechnology, Computer and data processing, Cosmetology, Electrical technology, Fashion design, Fire science, Forensics, Graphic art. Health information technology, Interior design, Law enforcement and criminal justice, Travel and tourism, Veterinary assisting
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
Petersons Test & Career Prep (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides information and support materials for the preparation of college, career and personal endeavors. Access includes over 300 academic and professional practice tests and courses (e.g. GED, SAT, ASVAB, TOEFL, Cosmetology, Firefighter, Real Estate, etc), information on over 4,000 accredited schools, a scholarship search module, a resume builder, and career modules covering subjects from career change to salary negotiations.
User Guide: https://libguides.elcamino.edu/petersonstestprep

Online Video Resources from the Library

These video resources are available through the ECC Library. When you access these videos online, you will be prompted to login using your name and ECC ID number.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a large online video collection with a catalog of 68,000 documentaries, interviews, shorts, and TV shows from more than 800 distributors, producers, and filmmakers. Hundreds of feature films are available, but the focus is on educational content, with rich and varied offerings related to U.S. and world history, business, education, health, science, performing areas, and dozens of other subjects.

Below are some examples of career- and job-related videos that may interest you. You are also encouraged to use the link above to search for videos on specific careers and explore on your own.

Career Exploration 101 Video
There are numerous tools available to hone your skills and make you a more desirable hire in your chosen career field. But what if you don't even know what career field you see yourself in? CandidCareer.com's Billy Glading walks us through the exploration process to find out how to pick the career that's right for you!
A Student’s Guide to a Meaningful Career Video
Thinking about a potential career can be overwhelming. The career you end up with will be a big part of how you define yourself, and so you want to make the right choice. But just how DO you find your eventual career? Your journey begins with a better understanding of yourself. Until you know who you are, you cannot know what you will become later! A Student’s Guide to a Meaningful Career will help students discover their unique qualities, passions, and strengths, and turn them into future career paths. Ideal for students, career counseling centers, and student success programs, this video will help students learn how to take advantage of the opportunities available to them while in college, many of which can make a student more marketable to future employers.
Mapping a Career Path: Your Aptitude, Interests, Values and Personality Video
Everyone wants a job doing something they love. But where do you start? Career self-assessments provide insight into aptitude, values, and personality. These, along with a person's interests, can determine what types of work might suit and satisfy them. Help students explore popular assessment techniques and hear from other job searchers about their experiences navigating the four domains of self-assessment. Meet the people who can help interpret and gauge the validity of test results. And see how school projects and extra-curricular activities can help guide career planning.

(Image on this page licensed by freepik.com)

Films on Demand: Careers & Job Search Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides streaming videos with overviews of career fields across the spectrum and insights into the necessary skills for success through the phases of career development, from self-knowledge and values assessment to networking and résumé building, and ultimately to implementation of their determined goals.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbooks is published every year by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It contains information about salary, education needed, workplace norms, and much more about almost any career you can think of.