LibGuides: Career & Job Resources: Resources for Mid-Career Students

Online Library Resources

These eBooks (electronic versions of printed books that can be read on a computer or handheld device) provide insights and suggestions for success when you're contemplating changing careers or returning to work as an older adult. When you access these eBooks online, you will be prompted to login using your ECC email and password.

Escape the Mid-Career Doldrums by Marcia L. Worthing; Charles A. Buck
ISBN: 9780470225028
Publication Date: 2008-02-25
Whether you're bored, burned out, retired, or fired, Escape the Mid-Career Doldrums offers solutions, ideas, and practical tools for shaking up your professional life for the better. Based on real case studies, this smart and practical career guide will help you discover the causes of your professional problems and give you the inspiration and confidence to take action and seize new opportunities. This is the perfect prescription for a new and exciting professional life.
Fearless and Free by Wendy Sachs
ISBN: 9780814437698
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Women tend to be inherently cautious, to the point of overthinking their every move. This may help them stay safer than their male counterparts, but it also keeps them stuck in the action-first, fake-it-til-you-make-it ethos celebrated in the tech world shaking up the workforce today. What if women embraced the startup spirit? What if they had the confidence to take chances, even if they knew they may fail first? What if instead of agonizing over which step to take, they leapt forward quickly? These are the traits that helped Silicon Valley redefine our culture, and not surprisingly, these are the same lessons that can help all women succeed in all stages of their careers.In Fearless and Free, author Wendy Sachs has provided what O, The Oprah Magazine has called "pithy, invaluable guidance to women stymied in the workplace." With lessons learned from a wide range of women who faced down fears, roadblocks, and failures to reinvent themselves, Sachs's invaluable resource teaches women how to:* Boost their confidence* Sell their story* Capitalize on their skills and expand them* Nurture their network* Brand themselves--without bragging* Reposition themselves for reentering the workforce* And much more!By taking the disruptive methods that helped Silicon Valley send shockwaves across industries, Fearless and Free seeks to empower women in the workforce, showing them how to lean into their strengths, increase confidence, and make their impact known loud and clear.
You Can Do It! by Harry Turner
ISBN: 9781563431531
Publication Date: 2015-02-25
Facing the threats of corporate downsizing and restructuring, many people are finding that midway through their careers they need to go back to school to sharpen job skills and get new knowledge. Without condescension, this book helps individuals review the learning tools they need to most effectively absorb new information.
Career Reboot: 24 Tips for Tough Times by John Lees
ISBN: 9780077127589
Publication Date: 2010-01-16
How does anyone make sense of work and career choice in times as tough as this? This book encourages you to break out of a rut and start to make things happen in your career. Packed with practical tips for rejuvenating your career, this book is a must for anyone striking out into a difficult job market after redundancy or simply looking for new opportunities in tough times. This book is designed to help you get out of a hole if you're career-panicked, especially if you're coping with redundancy. Section 1 - Taking Stock checks your thinking before you throw yourself into job search mode. Section 2 - Planning Your Strategy gives you insights into the way the market works and the way recruiters and employers react to the different behaviours adopted by job seekers. Section 3 - Your Message To The Marketplace provides a series of checklists to show you how to sell yourself on paper, including the reason why so many CVs and cover letters fail, and Section 4 - Interview Secrets reveals how to make an impact in the final stages of the selection process. Finally Section 5 - Looking Forward provides some longer-term career strategies.
Seven Steps to a Rewarding Transitional Career by Richard Pinsker; Jonamay Lambert; Selma Myers; George Simons
ISBN: 9781599961781
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
A workbook that helps people who are - in job transition and want to find work; working but are concerned about their future career; interested in exploring consulting or contracting work; retired but need additional income; and, entering the work place for the first time.

Expert Resumes for Career Changers by Wendy S. Enelow; Louise M. Kursmark
ISBN: 9781593577810
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
The down economy has prompted millions of people to consider changing jobs or industries to stay employed. A major obstacle these people face is to write a resume that effectively connects their skills and experience to new opportunities. Expert Resumes for Career Changers shows people who are transitioning from one career to another how to do just that. This book features a collection of outstanding professionally written resumes designed for people transitioning into a new career. In addition to 180 pages of sample resumes, this book provides winning job search strategies, sound resume-writing advice, and tips for creating and using electronic resumes. New content for this edition includes completely updated resumes, a new chapter on writing cover letters, and a collection of cover letter samples.

Online Video Resources from the Library

These video resources are available through the ECC Library. When you access these videos online, you will be prompted to login using your name and ECC ID number.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a large online video collection with a catalog of 68,000 documentaries, interviews, shorts, and TV shows from more than 800 distributors, producers, and filmmakers. Hundreds of feature films are available, but the focus is on educational content, with rich and varied offerings related to U.S. and world history, business, education, health, science, performing areas, and dozens of other subjects.

Below are some examples of career- and job-related videos that may interest you. You are also encouraged to use the link above to search for videos on specific careers and explore on your own.

Navigating Career Change Video
Barney is taken aback at Dion's apparent lack of a career plan when Dion says he can just stay there and be next in line when his uncle Marcus eventually retires. Carol thinks that people need to consider whether they are happy in their jobs and, if not, what changes they can make. Sam, having already experienced (enforced) job change, adapted his accountancy skills to a new career in policy. Sanjay acknowledges that fear can prevent one from accepting or seeking change and Dion emphasizes the importance of having a plan. Serena recommends a SWOT analysis, which both Dion and Carlos undertake. Barney gives Dion job interview advice, suggesting that Dion position himself positively in interviews without alluding to any previous career baggage. Barney also highlights the need to match the skills Dion offers with what employers want. Sam makes a point of consciously analyzing prospective companies against his ideal workplace criteria before deciding which to target in his job search. He also does courses to boost his confidence and skill sets. Barney points out that change is inevitable in all industries and therefore thinking ahead of the game is key to future career success.
Grey Ambition Video
Grey Ambition is an inspirational documentary by filmmaker Brandy Yanchyk about Canadian seniors over sixty-five who are taking their brain power to new levels long after retirement. It includes seniors who are involved in philanthropy, the arts, volunteerism, education, entrepreneurship and those still working in the business world and proves that life begins at any age. Grey Ambition features fashion tycoon Harry Rosen, who has gone back to school in his eighties; Henry Schroeder, a ninety-five year old who builds airplanes and flies them; Anna Jarmics, a competitive darts player and painter who has no hands; Marilyn O’Hara, an entrepreneur; Peggy Kim, an avid volunteer in her Korean community and Joyce and Arthur George who still teach roller skating in their nineties.
Mapping a Career Path: Your Aptitude, Interests, Values and Personality Video
Everyone wants a job doing something they love. But where do you start? Career self-assessments provide insight into aptitude, values, and personality. These, along with a person's interests, can determine what types of work might suit and satisfy them. Help students explore popular assessment techniques and hear from other job searchers about their experiences navigating the four domains of self-assessment. Meet the people who can help interpret and gauge the validity of test results. And see how school projects and extra-curricular activities can help guide career planning.

(Image on this page licensed through freepik.com)

Other Online Resources for Mid-Career Adults

These online resources can help you explore and learn about a wide range of career possibilities.

CareerOneStop for the Older Worker
The O*NET Interest Profiler is designed to help you find out what your interests are and how they relate to the world of work. You can find out what you like to do, which can help you decide what kinds of careers you might want to explore.

O*NET Interest Profiler
This website offers good news and tips for getting a job if you're an older worker. Does it sometimes seem like your age or experience is working against you in your job search? It's true that some employers may have reservations, but many see that hiring and retaining older workers will be key to staying competitive. Whether exploring a new career or searching for a job, find special tips on a variety of subjects, including: overcoming stereotypes, career options, self-employment, skills and training, resumes and cover letters, job search, and interviewing and negotiating..

My Next Move
My Next Move is an interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options. My Next Move has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 jobs.

The ECC Career Center

The ECC Career Center

The ECC Career Center is available to support you as you explore career possibilities and potential job opportunities. Because the campus is currently closed to students and visitors, Career Counseling Services are now available in a virtual environment. You can use this link to Make a Career Appointment.

The Career Center staff can support you in a variety of ways, including:

Assist you in decision making when you're feeling stuck or still exploring majors and careers.
Review your resume with a focus on your transferable skills and provide feedback to increase your opportunities toward current and future employment.
Prepare you for interviews through strategies reviews and mock interviews that will help you make the best possible first impression.
Discuss other career-related topics and issues including job sustainability, salary negotiation, and career advancement opportunities.

(Image on this page licensed by freepik.com)