MANA Experience: Databases

The El Camino College Library provides access to specialized tools (databases) where you can find digital versions of articles that typically are not freely available through Google or other search engines. Some databases cover a variety of subject areas, while others are more specialized. They are available 24/7 and designed to make the research process more effective and efficient for students. Some advantages of databases include:

• You will only find CREDIBLE content in a database,
• All articles in databases have gone through a review procedure prior to being published,
• You will only find content created by professional writers, researchers, journalists, scholars, and academics in databases,
• You can use the wide variety of filtering tools to narrow down your search results EASILY,
• Many databases contain content that ranges from several decades to TODAY, helping to locate current content.

There are two main options:

1. Access databases from the homepage of the Library's website, look for the section titled Databases and you can find all the databases according to name, subject, type, and provider. The database description gives you the whole idea bout the subject scope provided by that specific database.
2. You can also search for a particular article/ books/ topic using Onesearch and refine your search result using options provided at the left sidebar. Select  "Available Online" under availability, and you will be able to access those resources from the library databases. To enhance your result to only scholarly journals associated resources, you can choose "peer-reviewed journals" under the availability.