MANA Experience: Digital Libraries

The Hawaii State Archives has been making digitized versions of collection materials since 2007, concentrating on the most requested material, indexes, and fragile materials. Collections are updated and enlarged as digitization and indexing processes are completed. All Hawaii State Archives' Digital Collection resources come from the holdings of the Hawaii State Archives.

The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history. This online repository of data will greatly increase OHA’s ability to preserve and perpetuate cultural and historical information and practices.

The purpose of Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library, is to make these resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi.
Ulukau is a coined word given as the name of this web-based library. It is the hope of the authors of Ulukau that in the same way that unexplained supernatural interpretive powers can be divinely given to a person, so knowledge and understanding can come to the person who makes the effort to read the language and the words of this electronic library.

ʻUluʻulu aims to perpetuate and share the rich moving image heritage of Hawaiʻi through the preservation of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawaiʻi. This archive is not just a collection of moving image items, but also an assembly of voices, communities, and stories; a gathering place for people to share Hawaiʻi’s culture, traditions and collective memory.

The National Library of New Zealand is here to help you access and use the collective knowledge of the nation.

It's our job to collect, connect, and co-create knowledge to power New Zealand.

Collect : New Zealand's documentary taonga in words, sounds and pictures are collected, protected and accessible
Connect : New Zealanders can easily access national and international resources through knowledge networks
Co-create : New Zealanders working together to turn knowledge into value
As a library and as a national institution we are open to one and all, and you can find out more about the role of the Library as defined in the National Library of New Zealand (Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa) Act (2003).

The Dag Hammarskjöld Library is building its digital collections.

High quality subscription databases such as The Economic Intelligence Unit, OECD iLibrary, and Hein Online offer access to thousands of intelligence reports, e-journals, articles and e-books on many topics of interest to delegates and staff.

The Digital Library, currently under development, provides access to and safeguards many digital items that form the UN's institutional memory. The Digital Library includes UN documents, key UN publications series, and landmark collections, such as the Index to Proceedings (ITPs), and Oral History interviews.

This report provides details on the geography, economy, government, and history of American Samoa. In addition, it summarizes some of the key events that occurred in the early 1970s in the U.S. territory.

The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps, yet less than 20% of the collection is currently online. These maps mostly were produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

The National Library of New Zealand is here to help you access and use the collective knowledge of the nation. Here are three main missions of this library:
1. Collect : New Zealand's documentary taonga in words, sounds and pictures are collected, protected and accessible.
2. Connect : New Zealanders can easily access national and international resources through knowledge networks
3. Co-create : New Zealanders working together to turn knowledge into value.

The Coastal Fisheries Programme (CFP) is one of two programmes that make up the Fisheries, Aquaculture and Marine Ecosystem (FAME) Division of SPC, the other one being the Oceanic Fisheries Programme. The CFP’s goal is: “coastal fisheries, nearshore fisheries and aquaculture in Pacific Island Countries and Territories are managed and developed sustainably”.
The CFP is made up of three sections: Aquaculture, Nearshore Fisheries Development, and Coastal Fisheries Science and Management.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

According to the establishment of a national archive of Tonga, this collection has been created by UNESCO.

Script from the WBAP-TV/NBC station in Fort Worth, Texas, covering a news story about Prince Tupouto'a Tungi of the Tonga Islands visiting the Bell Helicopter Plant in Hurst.

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.