LibGuides: OER &amp; ZTC: Open Educational Resources &amp; Zero-Textbook Cost Classes: Economics

Textbooks

Principles of Economics 2nd Edition by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

Principles of Economics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Principles of Economics (2016): University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.

This book is intended for a two-semester course in Economics taught out of the social sciences or business school. Principles of Economics aims to teach considerable range and depth of Economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept.

Principles of Macroeconomics, 2nd Edition by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

Principles of Macroeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Principles of Macroeconomics by D. Curtis and I. Irvine (2020): Lyryx.

Principles of Macroeconomics presents a complete and concise examination of introductory macroeconomics theory and policy suitable for a first introductory course. Examples are domestic and international in their subject matter and are of the modern era — financial markets, monetary and fiscal policies aimed at inflation and debt control, globalization and the importance of trade flows in economic structure, and concerns about slow growth and the risk of deflation, are included.

Principles of Microeconomics by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

Principles of Microeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory microeconomics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Principles of Microeconomics by D. Curtis & I. Irvine (2020): Lyryx.

Principles of Microeconomics provides concise yet complete coverage of introductory microeconomic theory, application and policy in a Canadian and global environment. This adaptation employs methods that use equations sparingly and do not utilize calculus. The key issues in most chapters are analyzed by introducing a numerical example or case study at the outset. Students are introduced immediately to the practice of taking a data set, examining it numerically, plotting it, and again analyzing the material in that form.

Principles of Political Economy, 3rd Edition by Daniel E. Saros (2020): Valparaiso University.

This book contains many of the same topics as mainstream textbooks, but it includes and takes very seriously heterodox critiques and alternatives to the mainstream approach to economics. It includes a whole range of alternative theories, including Post-Keynesian, Austrian, Marxian, radical, feminist, institutionalist, and other approaches.

PressBooks

Courses

Economics Course List (Saylor)

Prepare for work in policy, finance, consulting, and market research by learning micro- and macroeconomic theories, analysis, and modeling techniques. You can earn a free certificate for completion of any of these online Economics courses, or use two of them to earn credit in leading college programs.

Financial Markets (Open Yale)

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries.

Financial Theory (Open Yale)

This course attempts to explain the role and the importance of the financial system in the global economy. Rather than separating off the financial world from the rest of the economy, financial equilibrium is studied as an extension of economic equilibrium. The course also gives a picture of the kind of thinking and analysis done by hedge funds.

Introduction to Macroeconomics (Skills Commons)

Introduction to Macroeconomics This course introduces the determination of levels of national income, employment and prices, and the basic causes of fluctuations in the business cycle, the banking system, monetary policy and financial intermediation. Other topics may include international trade and international finance.

Introduction to Microeconomics (Skills Commons)

Introduction to Microeconomics This course introduces the theory of relative prices in a market system, consumer choice, marginal analysis, and the allocation of productive resources among alternative uses in a market economy. Other topics may include market power and price discrimination, public finance, the labor market and environmental policy.

Principles of Microeconomics & Principles of Macroeconomics (ASCCC OERI)

OER Supplementary Modules to Principles of Economics Courses The following seven modules are user-ready supplements to the Principles of Economics courses. They are linked to the Openstax textbooks but may be added to any course using Canvas. Each module is divided into separate lessons, each available to download individually into a course.