The El Camino College Library provides access to 200,000+ eBook titles (with more coming soon!), covering a wide variety of subjects, that can be used to support classroom teaching and student research purposes. These titles are hosted on several different vendor e-reader platforms, which can be accessed individually via the the library's Databases A-Z Directory Simply use the option to filter by "Database Type" to see the list of eBook platforms or search alphabetically. Note: Off-campus access will prompt a requirement to login using your ECC email & password.
eBooks are also searchable via the OneSearch discovery platform.
Scroll this guide page, or use the links on the left-hand side, to navigate to information on using the different eBook platforms.
Scroll through our galleries of new eBooks recently added to the ECC Library collection.
ECC provides access to more than 200,000 eBooks on EBSCO eBook Collection platform.
EBSCO eBooks are compatible with:
eBook Apps:
This tutorial demonstrates the searching functionality for EBSCO eBooks as well as how to read eBooks online.
This tutorial demonstrates how to read EBSCO eBooks online using your browser.
This tutorial demonstrates the download functionality for EBSCO eBooks.
Depending on publisher-specified limits, up to 100 pages of an EBSCO eBook can be printed, saved or emailed as a PDF file (per user) from within the eBook viewer to be printed at a later time.
Notes:
To learn how to save, print, or email eBook Chapters, see:
Credo Reference is a library database providing 1094 reference eBooks such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotation and other books that can be searched using key words. It also includes a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. Use this database to find definitions, overview articles on a topic, or even pronunciation of medical terms!
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) provides access to 150+ reference titles in a variety of subject areas.
Salem Press eBooks includes a number of reference titles supporting research in literature, history, science and career exploration. eBook access was provided for titles originally purchased by the Library in print format. Popular titles include those from these series: Critical Insights (for literature), Defining Documents in American History, and Magill's Medical Guide. Click on the ebook title to go to the full book, or do a keyword search to find "articles" on that topic within various ebooks. Entries can be printed, saved (after creating a personal account), or emailed.
JSTOR is another place to search for eBooks. In addition to a number of titles accessible via the library's subscription collections, JSTOR also offers more than 6,000 "open-access" titles from leading publishers. on its platform. All ebook chapters work just like the journal articles on JSTOR, with unlimited simultaneous use, PDF downloads, and printing, and no need to log in or use special software. Note: Access to the library's subscription content is only available via the JSTOR link on the Databases A-Z Directory. Searching the open JSTOR platform may lead you to certain access restrictions.
When searching in JSTOR use the filters on the left-hand navigation to narrow your results to "book chapters" only.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts comprises a collection of richly illustrated eBooks packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses. It covers a diverse range of fields including design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
A&A ePortal by Yale University Press features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. The site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers. It also includes a helpful "image search" tool to locate pictures found within eBooks across the platform.
