Library Services Guide

The El Camino College Library provides a robust & diverse collection in both print and digital formats to support offered courses, student research topics, along with materials for personal and professional enrichment. Access thousands of books (print & eBooks), periodicals (newspapers, magazines & scholarly journals), streaming videos, and much more!

Use the tabs at the left, to learn more about accessing library collection materials.

Have something you'd like to recommend we add to our collection?

Complete the Resource Recommendation Form to submit your library collection requests. Please note that all requests will be reviewed to ensure they adhere to the Library's collection development policies and are dependent on available budget.

A-Z Database List

Here you can read descriptions of all the 100+ databases you have access to as an ECC student, including many that have specialty content.  If you're not sure which one to use, contact us through the Library chat!

Off Campus Access:  When opening up a library database or digital collection materials (e.g. eBooks, streaming videos, etc.), users will be prompted to authenticate by logging in with their ECC email and password.

What You Can Access

• E-books (electronic books) that you can read on your screen on or off-campus.  E-books are great for deep dives into subjects. 
• Tip: use just a chapter for your assignment!  You can see the list of chapters when you click any e-book.

• Articles from magazines and newspapers (popular sources). 
• Tip: these articles are great and very useful, however if your instructor asked for only scholarly journal articles we'll have to look elsewhere!

• Articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals. 
• Tip: these articles are reviewed by experts in their field, heightening their credibility.

• Online Encyclopedias
• Tip: these are great for background information, dates, timelines, and definitions.

• Videos 
• Tip: these are video segments that are usually not available on YouTube or the open web due to copyright restrictions.

• Primary Source Documents

• Tip: these include diaries, photos, original legal documents, journals, and any item produced during the time you're studying.  

What You Need to Log In

• All you need is your ECC login information!  
• You'll have access as long as you're a registered ECC student. 

  ---