@elcaminolibrary
We are ready to answer your questions on library use, tutoring, Canvas, tech borrowing, and being an online student.
Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p .m.
Saturday (Tutoring Center Only)
10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Closed Sundays
Periodicals are published at regular intervals throughout the year such as a magazine, journal, or newspaper:
You can find scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles from thousands of publications by looking through certain library databases. Many of the examples listed below include a mix of articles from all three publication types.
Article databases listed below can be searched individually or use the OneSearch platform to search across databases for articles available through the ECC Library.
OPTION 1: Search your topic in the OneSearch and limit to either "articles" for magazines & journals OR "newspaper articles". Open up the record of an item and look for the "View Online" option that provides a link to the library database in which that article is located.
OPTION 2: Search curated packages of content via library databases. Click on the listings of available Research Databases from the Library Website Homepage "Database type" to "news/magazines" OR "scholarly/peer-reviewed journals"
A library database is an electronic catalog, index, and digital warehouse for published materials. These materials most commonly include magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Often, other items such as books, videos, and audio files are included as well.
Databases are highly organized and allow students to search for information on a topic by keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase. Most databases at El Camino College provide access to full-text content, which means that you will find entire articles available, not just summaries or citations of articles.
From the homepage of the Library's website, look for the link for Databases to access an A-Z listing of available databases with descriptions of what content is accessible in each. If accessing the database from off-campus, you will be prompted to login using your ECC email and password.
Once you select the database you wish to search, be sure to use the available search options and filters to narrow your results. For example, you can limit to articles published during a specific date range, coming from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, or provide the full-text of the article. You can also use the "Database Type" feature to narrow your options to only those with journals/magazines and newspapers.
Below is a sampling of some of our periodical databases:
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most regarded US national newspapers, including: The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Access includes major dailies including the Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
A full-text database containing newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Publications offer additional viewpoints from those offered by the mainstream press.
This database is a digital collection of the world’s major news outlets. It offers full-text access to more than 1,200 national and international newspapers including the Orange County Register, San Jose Mercury News, and the San Francisco Chronicle. Full-text television and radio transcripts from the Associated Press, National Public Radio, PR Wire, CNN, CBS News, MSNBC, Fox News, and others are also included.
Regional Business News provides full-text access to more than 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications dating back to 1990. Content is provided by leading publishers in business news. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires.
A leading source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. For students, a great source of timely journalism and opinion for research in the area of education.
Flipster is an online newsstand that allows people to browse digital versions of the latest issues of popular magazines. The ECC Library has obtained subscriptions to a suite of 26 magazine titles for your reading pleasure. Use the Flipster app, available through the iTunes store for the iPad and iPhone, and on the Google Play store for Android tablets, to download magazines for offline reading.
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, full-text is available for nearly 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, more than 73,300 primary source documents, and more than 1.5 million photos, maps and flags dating back to 1917.
Full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Content also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Features information on up-to-date social issues, providing pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, statistics, images, podcasts, and links to credible websites for each topic.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a variety of subject areas including economics, history, sociology, and political science. NOTE: not ALL JSTOR material is available via the ECC subscription.
CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool of nursing and health professional providing access to the full-text for more than 1,300 journals with broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
Full-text peer-reviewed articles from 100 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. This esteemed collection provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
Ethnic Diversity Source supports the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books,
Provides full-text articles from over 1000 scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines covering most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration. The database also includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies, reports for over two thousand industry sectors, and hundreds of country risk and economic reports.
MEDLINE Complete is a leading full-text base of biomedical and health journals covering an extensive range of subjects including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy development and much more, It is an essential research select for clinical, nurses, health professionals and researchers created by the National Library of Medicine.
Authoritative reference content in the area of the environment, energy and natural resources. Navigate by issue, organization or country to find news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics.
A comprehensive consumer health resource providing accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Includes academic journals, magazines, news, and background information from reference sources.
Authoritative information covering all major science topics. Integrates content from encyclopedias and other reference works, as well as topic overviews, biographies, articles from academic journals and other periodicals, images and videos, detailed experiments from Experiment Central, biographies, and dictionaries.
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes more than 280 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Includes historical (primary) documents, reference articles, journal citations and full-text journal articles.
Chronicles the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras, from nearly 5,000 years ago to recent historical events. Includes primary sources, academic journals and other periodicals, biographies, reference and audio/video.
Alt-HealthWatch offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports providing in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary, holistic and alternative medicine.
Provides full-text access to 320+ art journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. This database also contains resources such as books by and about artists, artist materials and methods, and artist profiles.
Global business case studies, in-depth statistical data, company and industry profiles, SWOT and market share reports, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Military & Goverment Collection offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and related content pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Full-text is available for more than 260 full-text journals and periodicals.
This database gives access to the full-text of more than 500 journals providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
The Vocational and Career Collection offers the full-text to nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals to support the research needs of students enrolled in vocational programs.